The Metropolitan Sewerage District (MSD) is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. A public agency was created and established in 1962 by the North Carolina State Stream Sanitation Committee for the purpose of constructing and operating facilities for the treatment and disposal of the sewage generated by the political subdivisions comprising the District. MSD is a non-profit, publicly-owned utility.

The District owns, operates and maintains a 40 million gallon per day (MGD) wastewater treatment plant to treat raw sewage and industrial wastewaters collected in an extensive network (approximately 1100 miles) of collector sewers currently owned, operated and maintained by the District pursuant to the consolidation agreements signed on July 2, 1990. The District also owns, operates and maintains approximately 60 miles of interceptor sewers that connect such sewers to the treatment plant.


The MSD is a public body organized under the provisions of the North Carolina Metropolitan Sewerage Districts Act, being Article 5, Chapter 162A of the General Statutes of North Carolina, as amended. The District is comprised of the following political subdivisions located within Buncombe and Henderson Counties:

  • City of Asheville
  • Town of Montreat
  • Beaverdam Water & Sewer District
  • Enka-Candler Water & Sewer District
  • Town of Biltmore Forest
  • Fairview Sanitary Sewer District
  • Town of Black Mountain
  • Skyland Sanitary Sewer District
  • Busbee Sanitary Sewer District
  • Swannanoa Water & Sewer District
  • Caney Valley Sanitary Sewer District
  • Woodfin Sanitary Water & Sewer District
  • Crescent Hill Sanitary Sewer District
  • Town of Weaverville
  • Venable Sanitary District
  • Town of Woodfin
  • Cane Creek Water & Sewer District

The governing board (District Board) has a strategic plan for the future of the MSD and the budgetary process incorporates management by objectives. The District's management team and employees carry out the goals and objectives and policies as set by the District Board. The budget process provides the tool to translate planning objectives into work objectives on an annual basis.

The District Board consists of fourteen (14) members. Three from the County of Buncombe, three from the City of Asheville, one from Woodfin Sanitary Water & Sewer District, two from Cane Creek Water & Sewer District and one each from the Towns of Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Montreat, Weaverville and Woodfin.